James Chance & The Contortions ready first new studio LP since the ’80s, playing Bowery Electric (BV presale)

No Wave legends James Chance & the Contortions are set to release their first proper album since the ’80s. Produced by longtime Contortions guitarist Tom├ís Doncker, it’s titled The Flesh is Weak and will be out via True Groove Records this fall, featuring brand new material and favorites from their live set.

The band, which also includes Eric Klaastad (bass/vocals), Richard Dworkin (drums/vocals), Mac Gollehon (trumpet), and Robert Aaron (saxophone/keyboards), will play a record release show at NYC’s Bowery Electric on November 10 with BUENO and Logan X. Tickets go on sale Friday, August 26 at 10 AM with a BrooklynVegan presale beginning Tuesday, August 23 at 10 AM. Check Brooklyn Vegan Tuesday morning for the password.


James Chance & Les Contortions Live in Milan at Lofi, May 22, 2016

Happy Saturday night everyone. Thanks to Luca, the sound man at Lo Fi Milano, for this recording of the May 22, 2016, gig by James & Les Contortions!

Setlist (Compositions by James Chance except where noted): 
01. Designed To Kill 
02. Home Is Where the Hatred Is (Gil Scot Heron) 
03. Do the Splurge 
04. Street With No Name 
05. Jaded 
06. Melt Yourself Down 
07. Disposable You 
08. Put Me Back In My Cage 
09. No Pity In the Naked City (Jackie Wilson/Alonzo Tucker) 
10. Contort Yourself 
11. I Can't Stand Myself (James Brown)


Vienna, May 17, 2016

Thanks to Steff Galvan in Vienna for the great pix he sent to us recently. They were shot for webzine, Pavlov's Dogs, when James was there back on May 17 with Les Contortions.

Fan art from Portland

We're loving this fan-art sent to us by Aaron L. out of Portland. You can follow him on Instagram at @ark_vandelay. Does anyone else have some home made tributes to Mr. Chance?